Driving while drunk is a punishable legal offense, not just in Colorado. The specifics of the punishment differ from one state to another. Driving while intoxicated can result in accidents that cause physical impairment or brain damage. The worst scenario for a drunk driving accident is death. In Colorado, laws are in place for victims who have been hit by a drunk driver; you can get in touch with a Denver drunk driving lawyer for legal support if you believe your injuries were caused by a drunk driver.
Laws Governing Driving Under Influence (DUI)
First, Breath alcohol content at 0.080 and higher indicates being drunk. Drunk Driving is an offense for motor vehicles and non-vehicles, including motorcycles. You can face drunk driving charges even when the breath alcohol content is lower than 0.080. Refusal to accept a drug test while indicating signs of being drunk attracts driving under the influence charges.
Second, A person can face drunk driving charges regardless of whether they appear sober. As long as the blood alcohol content (BAC) is 0.080 or higher, you are liable for a Driving under the influence per se conviction.
Third, when a person faces DUI and DUI per se, the DUI per se charge is typically dropped as part of the plea bargain. If someone pleads guilty to DUI and DUI per se, they will serve their sentence simultaneously.
Fourth, anyone driving under 21 years in Colorado is underage. Minors driving under the influence is a Class A traffic offense. It can result in license suspension. It can also attract up to six months in jail, among other penalties. A minor’s BAC levels at 0.020 indicate they are legally drunk. For blood alcohol levels at 0.050% and beyond, minors will face the same penalties as adults.
Penalties for Driving Under the Influence
Fifth, first-time offenders risk serving a five-day to a one-year sentence in county jail besides A $300 to $1,000 fine and 48 to 96 hours of community service as punishment. A commercial driver will lose their right to operate a commercial vehicle for a year after their first DUI while operating any vehicle. The license recovery can be extended to three years, depending on what they were transporting.
Sixth, no matter when the first offense occurred, second-time offenders are subject to a 90–120 days sentence in county jail. They must also complete 60 to 120 hours of community service besides paying a $500 to $1,500 fine.
Seventh, regardless of the prior offense date, third-time offenders face a sentence of 70 days to a year in county jail. In addition, they must complete 56 to 120 hours of community service and pay a $450 to $1,500 fine.
It is important to note that a habitual offender is sentenced for driving under the influence more than three times within seven years. A persistent drunk driver has received two convictions for DUI in the last two years. The number of convictions you receive will determine how long your driving license will be suspended. Driving can mean exercising physical control over a vehicle. Therefore, a person may face charges for driving under influence without driving.